3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2010 3:22 PM by S.PDASH

Importing a list into Purchase order

user4782898
      Hi,

I have a list on purchase order entries (Lines) in EXCEL. I would create PO in EBS and import line data from my excel. Is this possible?.

Alternatively, I a have another PO in system that have similar lines as the one I want to create . I was wondering if import is not possible then is it possible I can copy a PO and edit the new one.

I am new to EBS; I will appreciate if you can give me navigation details too. Thanks for your help in advance

Aali
        • 1. Re: Importing a list into Purchase order
          Sandeep Gandhi, Consultant
          You can not create a PO by importing lines from Excel or by copy-paste from a different system.
          You will have to load the data into Oracle's PO interface tables and then run the PO interface.
          That will create a PO for you.

It takes time to write such interfaces. If you have just a handful of POs or if you will be doing this for a few pos every week, it may not worth spending time on the interfaces.

Hope this answers your question
          Sandeep Gandhi
          Omkar Technologies Inc.
          Independent Techno-functional Consultant
          513-325-9026
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Importing a list into Purchase order
            user4782898
            Thanks Sandeep .. That was helpful
            • 3. Re: Importing a list into Purchase order
              S.PDASH
              Hi,
              If you are using R12 then this is possible through buyer's work center...

E.g. You create a BPA Header.. and you want to upload the lines of this BPA by using source file in excel or text format.

Under Buyer work center :
              1) click on the agreement tab .. click on the search button.. search for the BPA number you have just created with header info only