14 Replies Latest reply: Feb 9, 2011 9:00 AM by JorgeB-Oracle RSS

APEX or SQL Developer?

This is my first time posting here, I hope I have put it in the right section.

I was told that in order to have SPARQL with Oracle, I should use either APEX or SQL Developer, and not to install Oracle Enterprise. (I have never worked with it, and am a bit lost).

Is it possible to write SPARQL queries in this manner? Which is recommended for a beginner that only knows basics of SQL? Which has a more user-friendly interface?

I would very much appreciate the help.

Thank you :)

Edited by: user13098869 on 14-Nov-2010 02:39
        • 1. Re: APEX or SQL Developer?

APEX - Oracle Application Express is a no-cost option of the Oracle database.
          SQL Developer is a tool that connects to the database to execute queries and PLSQL code

I do not know how APEX or SQL Developer would work with SPARQL.

One way to work with SPARQL with Oracle is using the Jena Adaptor. This is a set of tasks you would need to perform:

1. Install Oracle Database Enterprise Edition
          2. Configure the database to use Semantic Technologies
          3. Install JDK
          4. Install Jena
          5. Install Jena Adaptor
          6. Review Jena Adaptor Demos that include SPARQL examples
          Jena Adaptor Tutorial:
          From Test8.java on you can see some SPARQL examples

This is the Oracle Semantic Technologies Web Page:

This is my scratch pad that I used when doing these tasks in case it helps:

1. Install
          2. Create database at time of installation.

3. Create tablespace for Semantics:

create tablespace RDF_TABLESPACE
          datafile '/.../rdf01.dbf' size 2000M
          autoextend on next 2000M maxsize 16000M;

4. Setup Semantic Technologies:

sqlplus / as sysdba
          exec sem_apis.create_sem_network('RDF_TABLESPACE');

5. Place files in working directory:

JDK: jdk-6u22-linux-x64.bin
          Jena: jena-2.6.3.zip