3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2010 10:27 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias

Problem connecting to Mysql via Eclipse

Hello all
      I'm new to Mysql and i'm having some connection problem
      I use Mysql and Eclipse on my Mac osx 10.5.
      I have downloaded the correct Mysql version for my osx (10.5) .dmg archive and the Connector J version: 5.1.13
      I'm following the steps of this tutorial:
      http://obscuredclarity.blogspot.com/2009/08/setup-mysql-development-in-eclipse.html
      In the "database development" perspective i select the just downloaded Connector J as driver and select Mysql as Database, when i try to estabilish a connection i get the following error in a small dialog frame: "Creating connections to New Mysql has encountered a problem, Could not connect to New Mysql"
      If i click on details i get the following StackTrace:
      "Could not connect to New MySQL.
      Error creating SQL Model Connection connection to New MySQL. (Error: Communications link failure , the driver has not received any packets from the server"

I'm new to databases and i really dont know where to start debugging.
      Any advice?
      Thank you

• 1. Re: Problem connecting to Mysql via Eclipse
          jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias
          Communication errors mean the problem is outside of java.

Some possibilities
          - Database isn't running
          - Address is wrong
          - Firewall is interferring.

Your error report suggests that Eclipse itself is reporting the error, rather than a java problem. So an Eclipse forum might help.
          • 2. Re: Problem connecting to Mysql via Eclipse