8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 17, 2010 1:00 PM by William Robertson RSS

PL/SQL Function to check user name and password

Hi,
      I am new to PL/SQL. I have a table that stores user name and password. I want to write a PL/SQL function that checks if the entered user name and password is correct, by validation against the values in the table... Can someone help me with the code? Both user name and password is varchar2
        • 1. Re: PL/SQL Function to check user name and password
          JustinCave
          1) Is this a real system? Or a homework problem? You would never store the password in clear text in a real system-- you would store a password hash.
          2) What is the function supposed to return? A BOOLEAN? A string ('Y' for valid, 'N' for not valid)? A number (1 for valid, 0 for not valid)? Something else?

Justin
          • 2. Re: PL/SQL Function to check user name and password
            Hi Justin,
            It is a real system.
            The function should return some error message, "Password Incorrect", when the password doesnt match with the password in the table.
            • 3. Re: PL/SQL Function to check user name and password
              BEDE
              First of all, I believe you mean a procedure that would check the application username and password. Fot, if you mean a PL/SQL procedure, that runs in the database, and that means it has to be executed after the client application is connected to the database.

Maybe you need a procedure like this:

procedure check_pass(p_user varchar2, p_pass varchar2) is
              pragma autonomous_transaction;
              v_passwd varchar2(200);
              begin
              select passwd into v_passwd
              from password_table
              where user_name=p_user;
              if v_passwd!=p_pass then
              update password_table set
              last_unsucc_logon=sysdate
              ,unsucc_logon_n=nvl(unsucc_logon_n,0)+1
              where user_name=p_user;