9 Replies Latest reply: Dec 8, 2010 8:23 AM by Frank Kulash RSS

How to write PL SQL function?

First of all, whenever i try and put my attempted code for this in a thread it says 'sorry content not allowed'. I have attempted to make the function but i keep getting errors. I think its because my logic is wrong anyway. I am not quite sure how to do it.

I am a student and this is the first time i have been asked to write a function, i have almost no prior knowledge so please bare with me.

Could people give me some ideas where to start. It seems i cant even get a simple function to work at the moment! Where is it best to write and test the function? I have been using SQL commands, should i use Script creator instead?

Any help or feedback would be great.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by: Jay on 08-Dec-2010 03:09
        • 1. Re: How to write PL SQL function?
          Just paste code into the question. maybe you're pasting a screen shot.
          • 2. Re: How to write PL SQL function?
            Hi,

Try this link to know more about the PL/SQL

http://www.java2s.com/Tutorial/Oracle/0540__Function-Procedure-Packages/Catalog0540__Function-Procedure-Packages.htm

cheers

VT
            • 3. Re: How to write PL SQL function?
              munky
              Hi Jay

It probably won't allow you to post your code because there is something in there that the forum software thinks is a naughty word - this crops up quite a bit. Try looking at it very carefully to guess what the offending word / sequence of letters might be or just rename all your parameters variables etc...

Cheers

Ben
              • 4. Re: How to write PL SQL function?
                BluShadow
                Jay wrote:
                First of all, whenever i try and put my attempted code for this in a thread it says 'sorry content not allowed'.