10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2010 1:07 PM by Uwehesse-Oracle

NOLOGGING tables and recovery of database (and standby)

rahulras
      Hi All,

I am a developer and has not done a recovery of a crashed production database. So, I would like to learn from other people's "practicle" experience.

It is not a big deal now a days about creating a NOLOGGING table and doing direct path load of data in it. What is the implication of this if we have to recover a database from disk failure (i.e. using backup and archived logs) ?

I know, I can read documentation, which will describe the theory (which I know).

But what exactly will happen when a DBA is recovering a crashed database which had few NOLOGGING tables and data loaded in these tables with nologging ?
      Will the database be restored without any problems, just giving few messages / warnings about these nologging tables?
      or the DBA will have to do some tedious work to restore that database?

Also, if we have a standby database maintained by transporting archived logs, what will be the case if the main (is it called primary) database has (media) crashed and we have to shift on the standby?
      Let us say, I have all the files which were loaded (in nologging mode) on the primary database. So, getting the data loaded is not a problem. My question is, because of the NOLOGGING tables? will we have substantial difficulties getting the standby database to work?

Consider Oracle v10.1 and onwards for my question.

Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: NOLOGGING tables and recovery of database (and standby)
          Hi,

Even if you have tables with NLLOGGING minimal logging with respect to table structure changes are recorded, so in the case of recovery, you can recover the database with nologging tables from the last full backup but data changes after the full backup can not be recovered on the nologging tables.