4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 20, 2010 7:24 AM by 825110 RSS

Solaris 10 Whole Root Zones Missing Files

I am new to solaris so please correct me if I am wrong.

I created whole root zones and from what I've read this is suppose to copy all the files and applications from the global zone. Below is my zone configuration:

create -b
      set zonepath=/zonefiles/lstu-t2
      set autoboot=true
      set ip-type=shared
      add net
      set address=x.x.x.x
      set physical=nxge0
      end
      add dedicated-cpu
      set ncpus=1-4
      end
      add capped-memory
      set physical=7.8G
      end

It is not shown here but per the oracle documentation I ran the following commands to configure a whole root zone during zone configuration:

remove inherit-pkg-dir dir=/lib
      remove inherit-pkg-dir dir=/platform
      remove inherit-pkg-dir dir=/sbin
      remove inherit-pkg-dir dir=/usr

Now that you have my configuration; my question is do I have to manually install c compilers and other appliations that are located in the /opt/SUNW* directories on my global zone, in my whole root zones?

The only directories my whole root zone has in /opt is SUNWits, SUNWmlib, SUNWrtvc and staroffice8. I was trying to install sudo on one of my zones and it said I needed a c compiler which is located in /opt/SUNWspro on my host machine (global zone).

Is there a way to configure the zone to copy all of these directories plus the symlinks mostly located in /usr/bin/ or do I have to manually reinstall this software in all my zones?

For example the c compiler: lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20 Nov 17 2009 /usr/bin/cc -> /opt/SUNWspro/bin/cc

Thanks for your help.
        • 1. Re: Solaris 10 Whole Root Zones Missing Files
          j.m.krueger
          You don't need to issue the "remove inherit-pkg-dir" commands if you use the create -b statement in your zone configuration.
          If you use -b the blank zone-template is used.