2 Replies Latest reply: Dec 27, 2011 1:37 PM by 809249 RSS

Error Configuration File bc4j.xcfg is not found in the classpath

I am new to JDeveloper and ADF, and am suffering through the steep learning curve. This story may prove useful to someone, someday.

I just finished resolving a “bc4j.xcfg is not found in the classpath” error and it added another level of understanding to how things are glued together.

There is a back story. I had made a first pass at creating a test application. When I was done I started “enhancing” the application. One of the changes was to add a column to a view in the database. Try as I might I could not get that change propagated to the business component. This is still on my to-figure-out list. In frustration I dropped the model and recreated it from the database tables and views. Testing it with the “AppModule” in the model project I could see the view with the new column. However, when I went to run one of my old jspx pages, I now got the dreaded “bc4j.xcfg is not found in the classpath” – and this was for a page that was not using my updated view. As the military expression goes, “Whiskey Tango Foxtrot”.

It is now working again, and here is what I found.

I noticed in the error message that it could not find “/cloudapp1/common/bc4j.xcfg”. When I searched for the file I found it in /cloudapp1/model/common/bc4j.xcfg. I went to the project properties for the model project and on the “Project Source Paths” node I saw at the bottom of the page Default Package: cloudapp1.model. Ah Ha! That is where the /cloudapp1/model structure came from. Then I remembered that the first time through I had changed the default package to just cloudapp1. Part of my experimenting with the product. When I quickly rebuilt the model project I did not do that.