3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2011 11:54 PM by eevictim

Error: Detail entity cannot find or invalidate its owning entity

eevictim
      Guys and Gals,

Studio Edition Version 11.1.1.3.0

I have a Master (Orders) / Detail (Order Items) relationship in which I am trying to insert a new Detail row into a new Master record (neither have been committed). The two view objects used to create the relationship are joined by a view link and are defined as a composition association.

Master's primary key is Docnum. Detail's primary key is Docnum, Linenum. There is a foreign key via Docnum on the two view objects.

I click a button to add a new Master (Order). It retrieves a primary key via a DBSequence and the new Master (Order) with its information is created (but not committed). I click another button to add a Detail row and receive the following error:
      Detail entity Tgrrow (Detail *me*) with row key oracle.jbo.Key[25 -7 ] cannot find or invalidate its owning entity.
      I understand that you cannot insert a detail/child in a composition association without having a master/parent. But from what I "see" (probably incorrectly!), I just inserted its owning entity by adding the Master (Order). It even states its docnum in the error message! I've read through the forums and different blogs (http://radio-weblogs.com/0118231/stories/2003/01/17/whyDoIGetTheInvalidownerexception.html), but have returned to my general ongoing state of cluelessness.

I tried to do what the article/blog says, but I get the same error.
        public void onRowInsert(ActionEvent actionEvent)
        {
          DCBindingContainer bindings = (DCBindingContainer)getBindings();
          BindingContext bctx = bindings.getBindingContext();
          DCDataControl control = bctx.findDataControl("AppModuleDataControl");
          ApplicationModule am = (ApplicationModule ) control.getDataProvider();

ViewObject lines = am.findViewObject("TgrrowView1");