This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Jan 25, 2011 10:36 AM by 831273 RSS

SunFire V240 Server Question

831273 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Greetings:

I am not sure this post belongs in this topic, however, I did not see a Sparc III discussion area ;-)

Recently, I purchased a SunFire V240 server and I am currently reading the Installl Manual and plan to put Solaris 9 on it. I was reading that the way to connect to it is via a TIP connection (which I am not familiar with) or a Serial Terminal. This is all well and good, but this is actually my first Sun server that I have ever built and so I have questions that I am sure squarely put me in the "Noob" category... even though I have been doing admin of Linux for over 10 years (and FreeBSD) and occasionally AIX and Solaris (back in 2000).

SO the question is: What is the best way to accomplish a serial connection from a modern iMac to the SunFire Server? I presume I will be needing a USB to Serial adapter that supports RS232. But can I do a null modem connection to get the job done? Does someone have some experience doing this?

I appreciate any help in this.

Thank-you

Mike Needham, UNIX Admin, Lawrence, Kansas
  • 1. Re: SunFire V240 Server Question
    user219191 Newbie
    Sun Server discussion boards are here: Servers General Discussion
  • 2. Re: SunFire V240 Server Question
    831273 Newbie
    Thank-you for directing me to the proper place :-)
  • 3. Re: SunFire V240 Server Question
    gleng Expert
    Mike,

"SO the question is: What is the best way to accomplish a serial connection from a modern iMac to the SunFire Server? I presume I will be needing a USB to Serial adapter that supports RS232. But can I do a null modem connection to get the job done?"

I have not needed to do this but I believe you are correct.