10 Replies Latest reply: Feb 8, 2011 7:47 AM by sabre150 RSS

Get int array of unique values out of original int array

Hi Pros,

I am new to Java. Below is interview question asked to me in one of the interviews.
      int[] intArray = {1, 2, -10, 3, 5, 8, 2, -10, 3};

You have a method which returns int[] array  of unique values from above array. i.e 2, -10, 3 should appear only once.

Here is the signature of the method, Please fill in the code ....

<some access specifier> int[]  getUniqueValuesArray(int[] intArray){

---------  Write code here ------------------------

}
      I wrote the code with the help of Set, but the interviewer said he wants implementation without using Set.

Any Idea ?

Thanks a Lot
      Abhijit

Edited by: 833515 on Feb 5, 2011 7:49 AM
        • 1. Re: Get int array of unique values out of original int array
          Kayaman
          833515 wrote:
          Any Idea ?
          Stop going to interviews if you're not competent enough?

Otherwise, it's a simple logic problem. How would you do it by hand?
          A good programmer doesn't simply rely on ready made classes like Set, but is a master in logic and other computer related things.

Edited by: Kayaman on Feb 5, 2011 5:24 PM
          • 2. Re: Get int array of unique values out of original int array
            Yes, its true that its a simple logic problem.

But the interview was especially for Java developer. So I thought he is expecting me to use available APIs.

Why to re-invent the wheel if the APIs are already providing the logic.....

here I am looking for if there are any APIs that we can use.

Edited by: 833515 on Feb 5, 2011 7:44 AM
            • 3. Re: Get int array of unique values out of original int array
              sabre150
              I can find no way to do it without using an explicit loop. It's a slow day so I did it three ways. Since it does not use a Set, my preferred solution is :-