This discussion is archived
0 Replies Latest reply: Feb 7, 2011 7:55 AM by 672162 RSS

Call for Papers: IPTComm 2011

672162 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
IPTComm 2011
Principles, Systems and Applications of IP Telecommunications

August 1 and 2, 2011
Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, USA


IP communications are evolving rapidly. Telephone and Network service providers are turning to IP-based solutions for the delivery of voice, image and video communications. Mobile operators are deploying all-IP networks replacing the circuit switched technology with packet switching based solutions.

With the transition towards IP there is also a shift in the way services are provided. Service-oriented and resource-oriented architectures have emerged and new methods have been developed to compose complex services by specifying high level information and processing flows between simple, basic components. IP communication services are moving onto cloud computing infrastructures creating new challenges for high-quality service delivery. In addition to traditional telephone services, new communications services and applications that are native to- and optimized for IP networks are being created. As a result, a large variety of communication services are being delivered on top of the IP infrastructure, while the amount of traffic being carried over it is reaching numbers unimaginable just a few years ago.

The evolution of IP communications is being carried forward by organizations and individuals representing a diverse set of fields and backgrounds - telecommunications, web development, electrical and computer engineering, information technology and data networking. The aim of the IPTComm conference is to serve as a platform for researchers from academia, research labs, industry and government to share their ideas, views, results and experiences in the field of IP-based telecommunication. IPTComm will include presentations of theoretical and experimental achievements, innovative systems, prototyping efforts, case studies, and advancements in technology.

The list of topics for IPTComm includes but is not limited to:

New services and service models

o Over-the-top services.
o Social networking and IP communications.
o Compositional services and model checking.
o Cloud-based IP communication infrastructures.
o Virtualization of IP communication services.
o Rapid application development frameworks.
o APIs and enablers for IP communication services.
o Browser-based IP communication services.
o Context-aware communication services.
o Peer-to-peer IP communication systems.
o Telepresence and immersive services.
o IMS and NGN services.

Management and Resilience

o Management of IP communications systems and networks.
o Overload management schemes for IP communications.
o Log files and log file analysis for IP communication systems.
o Scalability of large-scale IP communication systems.
o Traffic and QoS measurement of VoIP traffic.
o Self-tuning and self-monitoring IP communications systems.
o Service discovery.
o Energy consumption and energy management in IP communication systems.
o Incentives in P2P IP communication systems.
o Resilience in P2P IP communication system.


o Identity management for IP communications systems.
o Anonymity and privacy in IP communications.
o Forensics and diagnostics in IP communication systems.
o Techniques to detect, mitigate and prevent SPIT, phreaking and vishing.
o Denial of service detection and prevention.

Mobile IP Communications

o Mobile IP communication services.
o Mobility in cloud-based IP communications infrastructure.
o Mobile P2P IP communication systems.


o The role of IP communications in the power grid.
o Open source development in IP communications.
o Research issues in vertical IP communication markets (e.g., privacy in the medical field, location in logistical field, etc.)
o Regulatory issues in IP communications.


Papers submission is handled by EDAS.

IPTComm solicits both long and short papers. Long papers may be up to 12 pages in length, in two-column ACM conference format. All submissions must describe original research, not published nor currently under review for another conference or journal. The program committee will referee all papers, and accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings. Pending cooperation agreements, papers will also be published in the ACM Digital Library.

Short papers should be between 5 and 6 pages long. The aim of the short paper category is to help maintain a published record of work carried out as well as facilitate future affiliations and foster collaborative work. Short papers are subject to the same rigorous review process as full papers and follow the same submission process, schedule and expectation of presentation as the full papers.


Paper submission: Midnight March 14th, 2011.
Notification of acceptance: May 21st, 2011.
Final camera-ready submission: June 30th, 2011.

Proposals for Demonstrations and Technical Talks: Midnight May 8th, 2011
Notification of acceptance: June 6th, 2011.

Conference dates: August 1-2, 2011.

Conference Location: Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois, USA.


Conference Co-Chairs

Carol Davids - Illinois Institute of Technology
Joerg Ott - Helsinki University of Technology

TPC Co-chairs

Zoran Despotovic - DOCOMO Euro-Labs
Volker Hilt - Bell Labs/Alcatel-Lucent

Steering Committee

Gregory Bond - AT&T Research
Dorgham Sisalem - Tekelec
Saverio Niccolini - NEC Laboratories Europe
Radu State - University of Luxembourg
Henning Schulzrinne - Columbia University

TPC Members

David Bryan - Cogent Force, LLC
John Buford - Avaya Labs Research
Gonzalo Camarillo - Ericsson
Eric Chen - NTT Corporation
Eric Cheung - AT&T Labs - Research
Carol Davids - Illinois Institute of Technology
Zoran Despotovic - DOCOMO Communications Laboratories Europe
Ali Fessi - Technische Universität München
Rosario Garroppo - University of Pisa
Aniruddha Gokhale - Vanderbilt University
Carmen Guerrero - University Carlos III of Madrid
Vijay Gurbani - Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent
Volker Hilt - Bell Labs/Alcatel-Lucent
Christian Hoene - Universität Tübingen
Alan Jeffrey - Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Pramod Koppol - Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Salvatore Loreto - Ericsson
Jouni Mäenpää - Ericsson
Elie Najm - ENST
Saverio Niccolini NEC Europe Ltd.
Joerg Ott - Aalto University
Victor Pascual - Acme Packet
Joachim Posegga - Inst. of IT Security and Security Law
Anand Prasad - NEC Corporation
Ivica Rimac - Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Ronaldo Salles - Military Institute of Engineering
Stefano Salsano - University of Rome "Tor Vergata"
Henning Schulzrinne - Columbia University
Jan Seedorf - NEC Europe Ltd.
Kundan Singh - 6Connex Inc
Jose Soler - Technical University of Denmark
Ivan Vidal - University Carlos III of Madrid
Xiaotao Wu - Avaya Labs Research
Zhenyu Yang - Florida International University
Pamela Zave - AT&T Laboratories


  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points