5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 1, 2011 1:55 PM by mgaspereyra RSS

Uninstall OraDb11g_home1 problem

Hi,

I have 2 Oracle databases installed on my computer:
      OraDb11g_home1 and
      OraDb11g_home2.

I want to uninstall all the components of home1 withought affecting home2.

I tried using the Oracle Universal Installer, but when I try that it just tells me to run the 'deinstall.bat' file. This is just weird. I mean what is the point of having a "Universal" Installer, if instead of installing/uninstalling, it just gives the user further instructions.
      Anyway, I ran the file. It asked me a few questions about the name, type of database et al. But it's not working. I can still see all the components of home1.

I have the Oracle 11g (Release 2) Entriprise Edition installed on Windows 7 (64bit) Home Premium.

I am not a seasoned Oracle user. I'm just a computer science student trying to learn Oracle. I don't know too much about it.
      Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
        • 1. Re: Uninstall OraDb11g_home1 problem
          Srini Chavali-Oracle
          >
          I have the Oracle 11g (Release 2) Entriprise Edition installed on Windows 7 (64bit) Home Premium.
          >

No Oracle database release is certified/supported to be installed on any Home version of Windows - so you basically ignored the Install Guide :-)

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E11882_01/install.112/e16773/reqs.htm#CHDHGGFE

Since your OS is not certified/supported, the uninstall process did not work.

You will have to manually delete folders and registry entries.

HTH
          Srini
          • 2. Re: Uninstall OraDb11g_home1 problem
            I downloaded the documentation but it was 400MB :-| and the folders and pdf files weren't named according to topics. They just had weird numbers as names. It would've taken me days to read it and find the relevant information.