0 Replies Latest reply: Mar 25, 2011 4:19 PM by 850501 RSS

Is synchronization - apart from the queueing - the same in the RTSJ?

Hi,

I'm just learning real-time java so you'll have to excuse me if any of my questions are stupid.

To add a little context: I first scoured the book 'Java Concurrency in Practice' to get a thorough understanding of java concurrency before starting to learn real-time java, primarily through the Sun book 'Real-Time Java Programming with Java RTS' but also through online sources.

Well, the problem is that I thought I had gained a clear understanding of java synchronization from 'Java Concurrency in Practice' but after studying code from 'Real-Time Java Programming with Java RTS' and reading the RTSJ and other online sources of real-time java code I am left confused and wondering if: a) Some of this code is not thread-safe (I am unable to locate an errata list for the Java RTS book so I cannot know if there are recognised errors in the code from that book); b) I haven't managed to understand java concurrency as well as I had hoped; or c) There are some differences relating to synchronization (apart from queueing) in the RTSJ that I have not been made aware of.