6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2011 11:19 PM by EJP

installed jdk ... but how do I open it to use it?

hello;

I'm new to java.

I downloaded jdk ( winXP ) ... I expected that it would be an authoring environment, like Flash ... but i can't find anyway to open it.

thanks,
      Shannon
        • 1. Re: installed jdk ... but how do I open it to use it?
          847577 wrote:
          I expected that it would be an authoring environment, like Flash
          If you're going to do any amount of programming, you'll need to learn to check your assumptions.

http://download.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/getStarted/cupojava/index.html
          • 2. Re: installed jdk ... but how do I open it to use it?
            I guess the usage of the phrase 'development Kit' led me to the assumption ...

I am beginning to believe that jdk should be called jbc ==> java background compiler, as in it runs on your OS in the background and then smartly c*ompiles text written in a text editor whenever I snap my fingers 3 times ... am I correct:)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
            • 3. Re: installed jdk ... but how do I open it to use it?
              847577 wrote:
              ..I downloaded jdk ( winXP ) ... I expected that it would be an authoring environment, ..