3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 31, 2011 6:56 AM by 851783 RSS

Java Server Threading Problems

Cross-posted at: http://www.java-forums.org/networking/41574-server-threading-confusion.html with no answers as of this edit.

I'm very new to networking in java, and it's been a few months since I last did any major programming. I decided to try out networking, and I'm beginning to get a feel for it, but I've jumped in to trying to make a server for a multiplayer game, and I've gotten a bit stuck about how to do it, specifically on how to use threads to take care of my clients, and still be able to keep track of the threads so I can have the server send out info to them about where characters are, when the threads should close because someone wants to log out, etc.
      If anyone could help me out that would be awesome :D
      Here's some code:

import java.net.*;
      import java.io.*;

public class GameThread extends Thread // this is the actual thread class I made
      {

public Socket socket;
        public DataInputStream in;
        public DataOutputStream out; // a socket and two I/O streams for sending ints

public GameThread(Socket socket) // typical constructor for getting socket
        {
          try
          {
            this.socket = socket;
            in = new DataInputStream(socket.getInputStream());
            out = new DataOutputStream(socket.getOutputStream());
          }
          catch(Exception e)
          {
            e.printStackTrace();
          }
        }

public Socket getSocket() // I don't believe this is ever used. Ignore it.
        {
          return socket;
        }

public void print() // Used to make sure the thread is active/knows about the socket
        {
          System.out.println("GameThread says: " + socket);
        }

public void run()
        {
          while(true)
          {
          }
        }
      }
      Here's the class I use to manage the threads, or, at least, where I attempt to do so.