This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply: Jul 7, 2011 4:06 PM by John McGinnis-Oracle RSS

SQL Developer: Not able to view tables

852844 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to sqldeveloper and oracle products. I've recently installed sqldeveloper onto my pc, i am able to connect to the database but when i try and expand the tables item in the treeview i dont get the tables displayed and the error Warning, unhandled exception:Closed connection is shown in the logging page at the bottom. I have uninstalled the oracle client, jdk but still i keep getting this problem.

Current versions are

Operating System= Windows 7 32bit
SQLDeveloper=3.0.03
JDK=1.6.0_21
Oracle Client=11g
  • 1. Re: SQL Developer: Not able to view tables
    Irian Pro
    Looks like you are using one of the 3.0 EA releases, so my first tip for you is to try installing the production release.

If you try to issue some simple selects in a worksheet you can see the results or you only get the unhandled exception:Closed connection log??

Assuming you can get results from selects in the worksheet you may have been given a read only user with no proprietary tables (or the like), in this case to see other users tables you should use the other users node of your connection.
  • 2. Re: SQL Developer: Not able to view tables
    KGelling Newbie
    I have a similar problem but only for certain schemas.

If I use the schema browser then SQL Developer hangs, if I use the Editor then I get "Closed Connection" and if I run a report then I get "Closed Connection" and "Vendor code 17008"

I've tried deleting the 'system3.0.04.34' directory but this did not help.

OS = Windows 7 64 bit
    SQL Developer = 3.0.04.34 (32bit)
    JDK = 1.6.0_24
    Oracle Client = 10.2.0.4
  • 3. Re: SQL Developer: Not able to view tables
    Irian Pro
    What is the version of your Database server, and it is different in the working schemas??