This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: May 19, 2011 5:36 AM by rdoogan RSS

OSB Catalog Sizing & Other Catalog Questions

trickster - oracle Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new to OSB, so was trying to find any sizing information on how much disk capacity I need to consider for the OSB catalog on my Admin/Media server.

Obviously typical metrics like:

■ The number of files being backed up
■ The frequency and the retention period of the backups

has a direct influence on the size and growth of the catalog, but are there any formulas which can be used to estimate required capacity, based on these (or other) metrics?

Does the catalog ever get compressed (or even deduplicated) on disk during it's lifetime?

Also, are catalog backups written to tape in the same way that normal OSB backups are? And what happens if the size of the catalog exceeds a single piece of media?
  • 1. Re: OSB Catalog Sizing & Other Catalog Questions
    rdoogan Journeyer
    It's not just the total size of the catalog but also the way the individual hosts catalog files are manipulated. During a catalog update it has 2 copies of the hosts catalog file.

What sort of size are you looking at? I have an admin server with 220 clients and the largest backup client (about 5TB) has a 12GB index file. In total my admin server is using 120GB disk space and 65GB of that is catalog data.

Due to the catlog operation copying individual index files, it is important to make sure you have the fastest possible configuration for the disks.

Hope that helps.

Thanks

Rich
  • 2. Re: OSB Catalog Sizing & Other Catalog Questions
    Thanks Rich,

so for the largest client you talk about, once its backup has completed and the catalog is being updated, it now needs 24 GB of space for OSB to update the host's own catalog file?

Of the 5TB of data, do you have an idea roughly how many files that might include?