This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2011 2:37 PM by 734659 RSS

Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup

734659 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi

Vmware server 2
Oracle Linux 4.8

I am trying configure RAC on two vmware nodes. I just created one node and then clone that node as second. i have added both machines ip and host name in both machine's host file

here is the host file that is same in both node

127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.2.131 rac1.test.az rac1
192.168.2.31 rac1-vip.test.az rac1-vip
10.10.10.31 rac1-priv.test.az rac1-priv
192.168.2.132 rac2.test.az rac2
192.168.2.32 rac2-vip.test.az rac2-vip
10.10.10.32 rac2-priv.test.az rac2-priv


one network card is setup as bridge and second network card setup as host only.

when i try to ping IP or hostname from each machine it says ... destination host unreachable ..

please help me .. i tried to repeat all the steps at least three or four time but not able to ping machine from each other

i am following instruction given here

http://kamranagayev.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/step-by-step-installing-oracle-10g-rac-on-vmware/


Thanks,
Vishal
  • 1. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    gokhanatil Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi Vishal,

    Please be sure that you have probed network devices of rac2 after you cloned rac1:
    ... from Hardware Device type click on “Probe” button to get new MAC address, enable both network devices, change hostname to rac2.test.az and click Ctrl+S to save the changes.
    Have you tried all IP address to ping?

    Regards

    Gokhan Atil
  • 2. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    585179 Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi,

    Please post ifconfig output from both nodes


    Cheers
  • 3. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    734659 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    yes i have probed and ping ip address too but still not working
  • 4. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    734659 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    here is the ifconfig from both machine

    *[root@rac1 ~]# ifconfig*

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:E8:9C:E7
    inet addr:192.168.2.131 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fee8:9ce7/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:178 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:36 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:18480 (18.0 KiB) TX bytes:1680 (1.6 KiB)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0x2424

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:E8:9C:F1
    inet addr:10.10.10.31 Bcast:10.10.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fee8:9cf1/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:26 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:1260 (1.2 KiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x24a4

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2759 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2759 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3710228 (3.5 MiB) TX bytes:3710228 (3.5 MiB)




    *[root@rac2 ~]# ifconfig*

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:17:80:32
    inet addr:192.168.2.132 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe17:8032/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:165 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:14091 (13.7 KiB) TX bytes:924 (924.0 b)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0x2424

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:17:80:3C
    inet addr:10.10.10.32 Bcast:10.10.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:fe17:803c/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:756 (756.0 b)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0x24a4

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2639 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2639 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3597036 (3.4 MiB) TX bytes:3597036 (3.4 MiB)
  • 5. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    585179 Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    Ok, so which address is unreachable? is that 192.168.2.x or 10.10.10.x ?

    Since one of the interface is host only, can you try ping this address from vmware hosts?

    Cheers
  • 6. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    734659 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Both ip address not able to ping. and also not able to ping from host. I have already disabled firewall.
  • 7. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    585179 Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    The host only interface should be able get ping from host, check your Virtual Network Editor, what subnet is defined for host only interface
  • 8. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    734659 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Here is the ipconfig from original host running windows xp

    ^C
    C:\>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.225.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.119.1
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : state.nd.us.
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 165.234.109.221
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 165.234.108.1

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Ethernet adapter Network Connect Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected


    let me know if you require more information .
  • 9. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    585179 Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi,

    That is the problem

    First, your 192.168.2.x is not in the same subnet as the host only interface (either vmnet8 or vmnet1 you need to check it)

    second, your physical interface is not connected, it is not good using WiFi to testing RAC, try connecting to switch and try again

    Cheers
  • 10. Re: Vmware machine not able ping from each other for RAC setup
    734659 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi fzheng

    Appreciate your input and help.

    Is it possible for you to provide steps in this case.. i am kind of new to RAC and it is little confusing for me...

    Thanks very much for your help ..

    Vishal

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points