This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Jun 27, 2011 7:05 AM by OraclePledge RSS

Most efficient way to insert form data into multiple tables and w/autonum

OraclePledge Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all, this is my first post here. I am new to APEX and PL/SQL. My background is ColdFusion and SQL, and I'm used to performing CRUD operations within my application files in CF tags. From what I've read so far, it appears it is more efficient to perform most CRUD operations on the database side, so if this is correct I'm hoping for some tips on the best way to accomplish what I am about to ask - similarly if what I'm trying to do is better off existing within my new APEX app I'm open to that information as well.

I have a form whose data should reside in two tables. Table A is a one-to-one relationship table and stores general information for each request. Table B is a one-to-many comments table, and should store unique records for each type of comment entered on the form, of which there are 3 comments fields on the form, so I would end up with 3 records in Table B for the 1 in Table A. I am generating an autonumber for Table A using a sequence and trigger. What I want to do is then take the autonumber I just created and use it for insertion into Table B for each insertion I have to do. This is where I'm stuck.

I'd like some input on 1) where I should put all of these operations, and 2) how best to go about coding what I want to do. In ColdFusion it was as simple as inserting the record into Table A, immediately querying Table A for the newest record and storing the ID (auto) in a variable, then using that var for any other table insertions I had to do. I know it has to be at least somewhat as simple in the Oracle world, I just need a nudge in the right direction. Thanks!
  • 1. Re: Most efficient way to insert form data into multiple tables and w/autonum
    Tyson Jouglet Expert
    Mr. Anonymous Numbers,