This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Sep 12, 2011 7:03 AM by 871604 RSS

SELECT, UPDATE, SELECT problem

871604 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to working with Oracle with .net and am a bit stumped by something, so hopefully someone can help me out...
The situation is that I have 3 commands. The first selects a row from a table ('SELECT field1, field2 FROM table1 WHERE field1 = 1'), so field2 = 'foo'. The second command updates that same row in that table ('UPDATE table1 SET field2 = 'bar' WHERE field1 = 1') , then the third performs a reselection ( ('SELECT field1, field2 FROM table1 WHERE field1 = 1'). The problem I have is that the third command brings me back the same results as first, unchanged - even though I can view that row in the database and I KNOW it's changed, and the second command has worked. Field2 still = 'foo'....If I requery and requery a couple of times the data changes eventually.

So here's some code....

DataTable Table = new DataTable();
OracleConnection conn = new OracleConnection("User Id=Database;Password=Password;Data Source=");
conn.Open();
OracleDataAdapter adapter = new OracleDataAdapter("SELECT FIELD1, FIELD2 FROM TABLE1 WHERE FIELD1 = 1, conn);
DataSet set = new DataSet();
adapter.Fill(set);
Table = set.Tables[0];

This is fine, I get what I expect, ie: Field2 = 'FOO'..
So now I do this...

OracleParameter Field2Param = new OracleParameter("Field2", OracleDbType.Char, 64, "BAR", ParameterDirection.Input);

OracleConnection conn = new OracleConnection("User Id=Database;Password=Password;Data Source=");
conn.Open();

OracleCommand cmd = new OracleCommand(insertstr, conn);

OracleTransaction txn = conn.BeginTransaction(IsolationLevel.ReadCommitted);

cmd.Parameters.Add(Field2Param);

cmd.ExecuteNonQuery();

.....this also works, according to the database view.

So then I requery in the same fashion as before.....

conn.Open();