3 Replies Latest reply: Jul 13, 2011 5:04 AM by Nigeldeakin-Oracle RSS

OpenMQ/imqadmin issue - objects disappear from Object Store

Hello community,

I am a beginner developer, and in the process of learning how to use OpenMQ within a Glassfishv3 environment to support the development of a user "keyphrase" messaging application. My basic set up is Windows 7 + Glassfish v3.1 + Eclipse Helios + MySQL 5.1.

I have encountered a problem with the imqadmin console - newly created administered objects (that do exist within a file-based persistent Object Store!) disappear from view.

I have successfully completed a number of tutorials (notably the OpenMQ Admin Guide and JavaEE6 with Glassfish textbook chapter on JMS) and maanged to develop a set of standalone applications that successfully implement the publish-subscribe messaging model using Glassfish. Each of these developments has relied upon the default JMS settings and OpenMQ broker (port 7676, imqbroker within domain1).

I recently set about creating a non-default broker instance in a new Glassfish domain. In terms of Glassfish administration, I conducted the following steps from the command prompt (Glassfish bin and openmq bin directories are on my PATH variable):

1. asadmin start-domain domain1
      2. asadmin create-domain testDomain --adminport 5000 (user = admin, password = admin)
      3. asadmin jms-ping -p 5000
      4. asadmin start-domain testDomain

Glassfish asasdmin auto-detects domain1 operating on default ports, and auto-allocates ports for JMS and other services.

The auto-generated OpenMQ broker instance in the <GlassfishInstallDir>/domains/testDomain/imq directory can be viewed in a file explorer. We can also inspect Glassfish Admin console at http://localhost:5000.