4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 11, 2011 5:11 PM by GabrielV RSS

Designing a message queuing architecture

Hi,

I am an engineering student working on a project that needs a message queuing system to be implemented to ensure a communication between different entities of the whole system.

- Suppose we have three entities: A,B and C.
      - Each entity is configured with an IP Address.
      - I need to send messages between them: A to B, B to A, A to C, C to A, A to B and B to C.

What would be the best architecture that fits my needs:
      - Must i run a broker on each entity?
      - What about using 2 Queues to ensure communication in two ways ...

Any idea will be appreciated :)

Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: Designing a message queuing architecture
          Nigeldeakin-Oracle
          What would be the best architecture that fits my needs:
          That's too big and general a question to be able to answer in a forum post. But if you're using Java you can certainly achieve it using JMS. You'd use a separate queue for each stage of that sequence.

Note that in JMS, the sender and the receive of a message don't connect directly to each other; instead they connect to the JMS provider. The name of the queue is an abstraction which removes the need for a sender and receiver to know anything about each other.
          Must i run a broker on each entity?
          No. You can use a single MQ broker for everything. You would typically use a cluster of MQ brokers if you wanted more resilience against broker failure.
          What about using 2 Queues to ensure communication in two ways ...
          Yes, you would.

Nigel
          • 2. Re: Designing a message queuing architecture
            Hi nigeldeakin,

Thank you for you reply,
            For sure i will use JMS, and i can imagine that i can use separate queue for each stage as you mentionned ...
            But my question is: