This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Aug 12, 2011 2:31 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias RSS

I have an online game project in mind, yet  is Java the path to success?

827803 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm only a young programmer, and Java is the first language I have encountered, yet that hasn't stopped me from being ambitious! I am tired of sitting around dealing with toy problems, making silly applications in both the console and in graphics which take me no where. I've decided I want to plunge into the deep end of the pool, seeing as that's the way I find I learn best as an individual. Therefore I've spent a long time rigorously designing an online (browser based) social MMO game.

This project is going to sap a whole lot of my time, and I would love to go ahead with it, yet this worries me, seeing as it will not be much more than a year before I head to university, and I do not want to lead myself down a rabbit hole if Java won't provide me with the tools I require (I will not be able to learn another language over this year). From what I have gathered from my research and experience in the language, Java's diversity, high-level complexity, power, object oriented nature and class libraries will perfectly set me up for a project such as this. However, there is too much questioning these days as to how powerful it is compared to other industrial standard game scripting languages such as C++, many seem to disregard it out of what is almost concern over it's true power, and this seems unlikely to be resolved in the near future seeing as people seem settled in their ways.

Any thoughts out there?
I'm happy to elaborate further!
  • 1. Re: I have an online game project in mind, yet  is Java the path to success?
    jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias Expert
    Currently Being Moderated
    Language has nothing to do with whether a game is successful It also has nothing to do with whether it works.