4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 17, 2011 3:37 PM by 882955 RSS

Solaris Express Login Problem

Hello,
      I'm a complete rookie with Sun & Solaris, so any help someone could offer would be greatly appreciated!

I have a SunBlade 1500 (SPARC) that I purchased from university surplus. The hard drive was wiped, so I needed to install an OS. I don't have a DVD burner, so I downloaded Solaris Express Text Install, because it was the only OS I could find that would work with SPARC & could be burned to CD. Installation went fine, & the hard drive now boots to the disk. But here is my problem:

At bootup, I am asked to login, and I don't know what to do. During install, I had to make several entries for passwords & such. The "computer name" is solaris, and the "root password" is sunblade1500. I entered Bugs Bunny for "real name", Bugs for "user name", and bugs123 for "user password". I've tried all different combinations of these when prompted for login, but the only ones that seem to work and not give a "login incorrect" message are when I use either "Bugs" or "Bugs Bunny" as login, and "bugs123" as password.

Here is verbatim text of what the screen shows when I try to login with these entries:

solaris console login: Bugs
      Password: bugs123
      Last login: Wed Aug 17 14:06:41 on console
      Oracle Corporation SunOS 5.11 snv_151a November 2010
      Bugs@solaris:~$

After the last line (Bugs@solaris:~$), it just sits there with a prompt for me to enter something to go further, and I don't know what to enter. I've tried root, boot, startx and none of those work. What am I doing wrong, please? Thank you VERY much!
        • 1. Re: Solaris Express Login Problem
          rukbat
          879952 wrote: