This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Aug 31, 2011 8:32 AM by 885487 RSS

Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser

885487 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello. I am taking an Oracle class and don't know much about this so help would be appreciated. I'll try to provide as much detail.

I'm using Windows XP and I installed the 11g Express Edition. From there, I tried the "Get Started" link but I get an error page in my browser/s. I tried searching the home page url on google (http://127.0.0.1:8080/apex/f?p=4950) to see if any others had problems and several threads from this forum appeared. I tried some of the some suggestions and nothing worked. Netstat shows nothing listening on port 8080. I tried disabling the windows firewall. I tried turning off and restarting the TNSLSNR process. This is what comes out on my listener.ora.

SID_LIST_LISTENER =
(SID_LIST =
(SID_DESC =
(SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
(ORACLE_HOME = C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\product\11.2.0\server)
(PROGRAM = extproc)
)
(SID_DESC =
(SID_NAME = CLRExtProc)
(ORACLE_HOME = C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\product\11.2.0\server)
(PROGRAM = extproc)
)
)

LISTENER =
(DESCRIPTION_LIST =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC1))
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 127.0.0.1)(PORT = 1521))
)
)

DEFAULT_SERVICE_LISTENER = (XE)




What should I try next?
  • 1. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    Did you go through this thread, specially the few last posts:

    {message:id=9490986}

    (Hint: check your HOST= setting of listener.ora)

    Edited by: orafad on Aug 31, 2011 12:06 AM
  • 2. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    885487 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Changing the hostname? Yes I think I tried that yesterday. I changed the hostname and tried again, but still nothing. Here is the output of turning off the listener and restarting. Also, doing a netstat -a gives me a hostname:1521 but still no port 8080.




    Starting tnslsnr: please wait...

    TNSLSNR for 32-bit Windows: Version 11.2.0.2.0 - Beta
    System parameter file is C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\product\11.2.0\server\network\ad
    min\listener.ora
    Log messages written to C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\diag\tnslsnr\(my hostname)\list
    ener\alert\log.xml
    Listening on: (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=ipc)(PIPENAME=\\.\pipe\EXTPROC1ipc
    )))
    Listening on: (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=(my hostname))(PORT=15
    21)))

    Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=IPC)(KEY=EXTPROC1)))
    STATUS of the LISTENER
    ------------------------
    Alias LISTENER
    Version TNSLSNR for 32-bit Windows: Version 11.2.0.2.0 - Beta
    Start Date 30-AUG-2011 19:13:36
    Uptime 0 days 0 hr. 0 min. 1 sec
    Trace Level off
    Security ON: Local OS Authentication
    SNMP OFF
    Default Service XE
    Listener Parameter File C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\product\11.2.0\server\network\a
    dmin\listener.ora
    Listener Log File C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\diag\tnslsnr\(my hostname)\li
    stener\alert\log.xml
    Listening Endpoints Summary...
    (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=ipc)(PIPENAME=\\.\pipe\EXTPROC1ipc)))
    (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=(my hostname))(PORT=1521)))
    Services Summary...
    Service "CLRExtProc" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "CLRExtProc", status UNKNOWN, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Service "PLSExtProc" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "PLSExtProc", status UNKNOWN, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    The command completed successfully
  • 3. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    Does hostname value used in HOST parameter match the output from hostname command?

    I notice that no db service has registered. Is OracleServiceXE started? What's the output from

    sqlplus / as sysdba

    startup
  • 4. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    885487 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    I also noticed that my output was different from everyone's. It is missing the "XE"

    According to services.msc that service is started. Im not sure if it's related but I tried "Stop Database" and then "Start Database" from the start menu.

    I am new to all of this so I'm not sure about that SQL command. Do I enter it in the "Run Sql Command Line" found in the start menu?

    I tried

    SQL> / as sysdba
    SP2-0103: Nothing in SQL Buffer to run

    Sorry, I tried the command in the command line and got this

    C:\WINXP\system32>sqlplus / as sysdba

    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.2.0 Beta on Tue Aug 30 20:12:22 2011

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2010, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    ERROR:
    ORA-28056: Writing audit records to Windows Event Log failed
    OSD-191612328: Message 191612328 not found; product=RDBMS; facility=SOSD
    O/S-Error: (OS 1502) The event log file is full.
    ORA-28056: Writing audit records to Windows Event Log failed
    OSD-191612328: Message 191612328 not found; product=RDBMS; facility=SOSD
    O/S-Error: (OS 1502) The event log file is full.


    Enter user-name:

    Edited by: 882484 on Aug 30, 2011 5:12 PM
  • 5. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    885487 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Oh and the hostname does match. Should the tnsnames.ora file also have the hostname instead of 127.0.0.1? I just tried it and no difference.
  • 6. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    882484 wrote:
    Sorry, I tried the command in the command line and got this

    C:\WINXP\system32>sqlplus / as sysdba
    Yes, that's right. I should've said command line.
    ERROR:
    ORA-28056: Writing audit records to Windows Event Log failed
    OSD-191612328: Message 191612328 not found; product=RDBMS; facility=SOSD
    O/S-Error: (OS 1502) The event log file is full.
    Looks like time to clean out event log entries (use Event Viewer).
  • 7. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    885487 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    After clearing the log file this is what I got. No login prompt?

    C:\WINXP\system32>sqlplus / as sysdba

    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.2.0 Beta on Tue Aug 30 20:44:42 2011

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2010, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Connected to an idle instance.

    SQL>
  • 8. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    sql> startup

    No login prompt because you entered all login info at command line (and os authentication was used for admin connection).
  • 9. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    sql> startup

    No login prompt because you entered all login info at command line (and os authentication was used for admin connection).
  • 10. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    sql> startup

    No login prompt because you entered all login info at command line (and os authentication was used for admin connection).
  • 11. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    885487 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    SQL> startup
    ORA-01078: failure in processing system parameters
    ORA-01565: error in identifying file 'C:\oraclexe\app\oracle\product\11.2.0\serv
    er\dbs/spfileXE.ora'
    ORA-27041: unable to open file
    OSD-04002: unable to open file
    O/S-Error: (OS 2) The system cannot find the file specified.
    SQL>


    Well I checked the directory, and yes that file is not there.
  • 12. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    orafad Oracle ACE
    Currently Being Moderated
    So I guess this db was never running before?

    Maybe event log issue screwed up the install earlier on.

    If possible, try de-installing and installing the XE beta again.
  • 13. Re: Cannot access oracle homepage/ "Get Started" with browser
    885487 Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    I had re-installed it once before, but did it again with the only noticeable difference being clearing the logs (I think), and it worked. I didn't have to mess with changing hostnames or anything. Thanks!

    Services Summary...
    Service "CLRExtProc" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "CLRExtProc", status UNKNOWN, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Service "PLSExtProc" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "PLSExtProc", status UNKNOWN, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Service "XEXDB" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "xe", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    Service "xe" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "xe", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    The command completed successfully
    LSNRCTL>

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 5 points