2 Replies Latest reply: Sep 4, 2011 6:48 AM by Srini Chavali-Oracle RSS

Installing Oracle 11g Express Edition

Hello,

I am a little new to this, but I'm trying to install a local database server onto my laptop to use for my OCA preparations...
      I was hoping someone can explain what I'm doing wrong... I'll try and provide as much information as I can.

I downloaded Oracle Database Express Edition 11g Release 2 (http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/express-edition/downloads/index.html) and installed it... Unzipped the file to Disk 1 folder and ran setup.exe. Got the prompted and left everything with their default values and the install went fine.
      Tried to run the "Get Started With Oracle Database 11g Express Edition" from my desktop and it tries to open up APEX on 127.0.0.1:8080 and that fails (cannot establish a connection).
      I tried starting up the database with the command provided in the Oracle Database 11g Express Edition folder and then went to "Run SQL Command Line". Tried to connect to the database with system/<password> and it returns an ORA-01089 error - immediate shutdown in progress.

I have already installed Oracle - OraHome92 in the past for work on the machine as just a client...

Is this simply an issue of restarting the computer to get all of the services working properly?
      Do I need to install the full blown 11g database from http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/enterprise-edition/downloads/index.html instead?
      I just want to be able to create the simple schemas and tables that the textbook says are provided and not do it on the company servers...

Any information or links to getting this set up would be greatly appreciated.
      If you need me to provide any more details, I will do my best and give you the information as well...

Thank you very much in advance for your time.
      Regards,
      Ivan
        • 1. Re: Installing Oracle 11g Express Edition
          Svetoslav Gyurov
          Hi Ivan,