5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 16, 2011 9:12 AM by Marc Fielding RSS

Exadata - Q related to Multipathing and IDP

Lyxx
      Hi All -

I have had some chances to attend few recorded webinar for Exadata, Since, Exadata documentation is not freely available, I have below doubts

1 - Multipathing : I am not a storage guy and being a DBA i have been hearing some time we had performance issue because of trespassing. So we had to install multipathing software
      at DB Node to achieve multipath from DB node to Storage server for load balancing + failover.

-- I agree here I have not 100% clear understanding about multipathing and got above expression.

But I could not find any related material how Exadata addressed that, I could understand it has got 2 Infiniband connectivity but top of that I did not find if any software
      was required or it is already installed.

- I would appreciate if someone can help me to understand multipathing with Exadata, how exactly it works and provides the same capability.

2 - ASM IPD : works with JBOD, is this stands true with Exadata ? I am aware about cell disk partitioning which can be mapped to multiple grid disk ( hot / cold ) .. Just want to understand
      if these are 2 diff. concepts ( i think yes, ) but thought to clarify ..

Regards,
        • 1. Re: Exadata - Q related to Multipathing and IDP
          Marc Fielding
          Hello Lyxx,

1. Multipathing: since Exadata communicates with storage over a network interface it can use the same OS-based interface failover as non-Infiniband network interfaces. In the specific Exadata case, it uses the Linux bonding driver; look at the /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-bond* files to see how it's configured.
          2. ASM IPD: I'm not quite sure what you mean by IPD. IPD/OS is an old name for what's now the cluster health monitor, but I don't see how this relates to disk partition layout.

Marc
          • 2. Re: Exadata - Q related to Multipathing and IDP
            Lyxx