This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Dec 5, 2011 1:08 PM by MikeKirk RSS

Destination Email Address for fscan+syslog.dat

djc72uk Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

SunMC newbie here. I’ve had a quick search through the previous posts and can’t seem to find the answer to my question.

I want to know whether it’s possible to include more than one destination email address or a UNIX sendmail alias within fscan+syslog.dat? Currently, the relevant lines within my fscan+syslog.dat file reads as follows: -

+value:actionCommand(change) = "sh -u ROOT -c {sh {-c} {var/opt/SUNWsymon/bin/email.sh v2 %statusfmt %statusstringfmt {''} 'sys@mycompany.com'}}"+
+value:rawActionCommand(change) = "email.sh:sys@mycompany.com:"+

Can I include a second email address? I’m not 100% certain on the syntax, but I’d image the relevant lines should read as follows: -

v+alue:actionCommand(change) = "sh -u ROOT -c {sh {-c} {var/opt/SUNWsymon/bin/email.sh v2 %statusfmt %statusstringfmt {''} 'sys@mycompany.com operators@mycompany.com'}}"+
+value:rawActionCommand(change) = "email.sh:sys@mycompany.com operators@mycompany.com':"+

Preferably, I’d like to use concatenate both of the destination email addresses into a single UNIX sendmail alias as follows: -

+value:actionCommand(change) = "sh -u ROOT -c {sh {-c} {var/opt/SUNWsymon/bin/email.sh v2 %statusfmt %statusstringfmt {''} 'Administrators'}}"+
+value:rawActionCommand(change) = "email.sh:Administrators:"+

Thanks in advance,
Dan C.
  • 1. Re: Destination Email Address for fscan+syslog.dat
    MikeKirk Newbie
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi Dan,

You should try to restrict your changes to those that can be done through the SunMC Console (i.e Attribute Editor), that way you know the formatting of the .dat files will always be correct. But I understand wanting to edit the dats if you want automation (even then Managed Jobs may be more maintainable).