This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 30, 2011 2:16 AM by nigeldeakin RSS

some durable subscribers don't receive any messages from broker

886634 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I have a publish/subscribe scenario set up so that there is one publisher writing to a topic and multiple durable subscribers reading from the same topic. My first step is running the publisher application to publish multiple messages to the topic. Why is that when I start up the subscribers after(they each have their own unique ClientID and name) that not all of the subscribers receive the messages? Either some subscribers receive everything or some receive nothing. Isn't the broker supposed to retain all the messages for all of the durable subscribers?

I am currently using the default values set for the messages. Meaning, they're all set to persistent delivery, priority level 4, and have a lifetime of 0, which is an unlimited message lifetime.

Thanks
  • 1. Re: some durable subscribers don't receive any messages from broker
    jtahlborn Expert
    are the durable subscribers subscribed before the publisher publishes the messages?
  • 2. Re: some durable subscribers don't receive any messages from broker
    886634 Newbie
    Thanks, I misinterpreted what it meant for a client to be "inactive". So just to be clear, is it completely coincidental that some subscribers are receiving all the messages that were published before subscriber was actually started?

Also, if a message's lifetime is set to be unlimited and there are no durable subscribers registered with the broker, does the broker still retain those messages until the message's destination is purged?

And lastly, is there any way for an unregistered subscriber to receive the messages that haven't yet expired?

Thanks again!
  • 3. Re: some durable subscribers don't receive any messages from broker
    jtahlborn Expert
    883631 wrote: