This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 29, 2011 3:59 PM by DrClap RSS

Is this possible using XML..?

891096 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Dear friends,

I am new to XML, but I have given a task, in which I have to use Java Swing along with XML for the project.
XML will be used to store data and front-end will be Java Swing.

This is a sample xml file which will store data -

<heading>
<Name>ABC</Name>
<Age>21</Age>
<City>NY</City>
<info>....</info>
</heading>
<heading>
<Name>PRS</Name>
<Age>21</Age>
<City>CA</City>
<info>....</info>
</heading>
<heading>
<Name>XYZ</Name>
<Age>22</Age>
<City>NY</City>
<info>....</info>
</heading>

There are thousands of such records. The <info>..</info> tag will contain some text in 3-4 paragraphs.

Is it possible with XML...
1. To find out how many records are of 21 age..?
2. To search the <info>...</info> with specific words..?
3. To count the records with city as NY..?
4. In a text box, if 21 is entered then a combobox would get populated with all records Name having age 21..?

:-( This might be a foolish way to ask like this... but I havent used XML, till now my projects where using DBs...

Please guide me...

Thanks in advance...
Have a nice day
John
  • 1. Re: Is this possible using XML..?
    800151 Newbie
    Yes sure you can use a SAX parser for example.

If your XML document is very big you should use a parser that does not read the entire XML document into the memory.

See here chapter two:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Java_API_for_XML_Processing

=> The SAX way it the way to do it :)

There are dozens of examples on that in the web.

Sebastian
  • 2. Re: Is this possible using XML..?
    796440 Guru