6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 8, 2011 10:51 AM by Paul Dziemiela RSS

SRIDs 8307 and 4326, are they equivalent?

Hi Guys,

I am new to Spatial world. We are storing lat/lons of points on surface of earth as SDO_GEOMETRY objects in Oracle Database (Table column). I was looking at what SRIDs we should be using (our data conforms to SRID 4326). However it seems that SRID 8307 is equivalent to SRID 4326 and is the proffered SRID for Oracle spatial. Am I correct? Why or Why not? Are there any benefits, extra functionality and build in functions/procedures available if I use 8307 over 4326?

Any other pros and cons of using one over the other?

Thanks in advance,
      Paresh
        • 1. Re: SRIDs 8307 and 4326, are they equivalent?
          Paresh,

Yes, they are equivalent.

If memory serves, 8307 was an OGC definition from the WKT effort that Oracle used for lat/lon data in 8 or 8i before Oracle started recognizing the EPSG codes. It is still used in a lot of examples (and code) for that reason.

However, please note that the db won't recognize them as the same, so any data you compare will need to be "reprojected" either in-place or on-the-fly to do so. For in-place, you are safe to just swap the SRID's out which is a reasonably quick operation. So basically:

1. drop spatial indexes
          2. modify the metadata
          3. update the rows such as:

UPDATE tablename a
          SET a.geometry.sdo_srid = 4326;

4. recreate your spatial indexes

Bryan
          • 2. Re: SRIDs 8307 and 4326, are they equivalent?
            Bryan,

Thank you for your helpful response.

Paresh
            • 3. Re: SRIDs 8307 and 4326, are they equivalent?
              Paul Dziemiela
              Hi Paresh,

Bryan's response is spot-on, they are the same. The one thing I might add is to emphasize what Bryan was alluding to, that 8307 dates back to the early days of Oracle Spatial while 4326 only comes along with 10gR2