8 Replies Latest reply: Oct 31, 2011 1:35 PM by Catch-22 RSS

support rawdevices by linux oracle.

user325931
      I am not a professional technician in linux, but I need everyone's opinion to reach a conclusion regarding Oracle Linux 5 update 7 which has the kernel 2.6.32-200.13.1.el5uek. What is the limit for raw devices supported by this distribution and kernel?
      I know that the raw device was deprecated in this update to the version 3 and after its use was released by Oracle for your database in RAC environment.
      As dis in metalink note 564580.1. A summary below.

Is> = EL5U4, configure raw devices via / etc / sysconfig / rawdevices rawdevices in Conjunction with the service.
      Is <EL5U4, use a custom or existing script such as / etc / rc.local to configure raw devices, for example:

Raws These devices are configured using multipath.

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: support rawdevices by linux oracle.
          Tommyreynolds-Oracle
          As of OL5, raw devices are unnecessary. Where you would normally use a raw name, just use the name of the block device. Sometimes applications are overly clever and parse the filenames to see if you are using a raw device; these should be corrected.

Raw devices were supported.

Then raw devices were deprecated.

Then raw devices were removed.

Then raw devices are supported again.

Too much thrashing for me; who needs 'em?
          • 2. Re: support rawdevices by linux oracle.
            user325931
            These changes are too much for my head. But I have to have this information, as are many questions swirling around this uncertainty I have described,
            • 3. Re: support rawdevices by linux oracle.
              Catch-22