4 Replies Latest reply: Oct 31, 2011 5:21 AM by gimbal2 RSS

java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError

Hello All,
      I am new to Java, just trying to run a JDBC program.

Version Details:
      Windows 7
      JDK 1.6.0_29
      Oracle 11g
      Classpath: C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.6.0_29\jre\lib;C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.6.0_29\jre\lib\ext;C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.6.0_29\jre\lib\ojdbc5.jar
      Path: C:\app\owner\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1\bin;;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files (x86)\Sony\VAIO Startup Setting Tool;C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.6.0_29\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.6.0_29\jre\lib\ojdbc5.jar
      JAVA_HOME: C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.6.0_29

My Java program:

import java.sql.*;
      public class TestJdbc {

public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception {
      try{
      Class.forName("oracle.jdbc.OracleDriver");
      Connection con=DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:oracle:thin:@localhost1:ORCL","******","*****");
      System.out.println("con get--"+con.getClass());
      }
      catch(Exception ex){
      System.out.println("Error occured in opening the connection" + ex);
      }
      }

}

getting following error

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: TestJdbc/class
      Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: TestJdbc.class
      at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
      at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
      at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
      at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
      Could not find the main class: TestJdbc.class. Program will exit.

Not sure what I am missing, getting almost same error if I run the program (compiling is working) from command prompt and also in the netbeans.

Experts, please advise. what I am missing here?