This discussion is archived
14 Replies Latest reply: Nov 1, 2011 3:36 AM by 896918 RSS

To write a file on client side using signed applets.

896918 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi guys,
I am a working professional and my task is to create a java applet which can create a file at client side according to client's mentioned directory on windows.
I work on it and found that applets doesn't have permissions to do this.
Then I work on it and found that using signed applets it can be done, but I signed my applet using self certificates, but even the applet at client side showing the error : "Access Denied".
I work on it and found that it can be solved using policies.
The problem here is I am not able to bundle policy file with signed applet, in such a way that no client has to change his policy file manually on his local computer.
I know that the solution is possible as on this site:
"http://www.javaworld.com/javaworld/jw-12-2000/security/writeFile.html"
which I got from oracle tutorial.
But I don't know how to make it work. I have gone through various forums, but no one is having the solution.
Please help me to solve this issue.
Any reply will be helpful.
Thanking you in advance.

Regards,
Lovelesh Saxena.
  • 1. Re: To write a file on client side using signed applets.
    sabre150 Expert
    893915 wrote:
    Hi guys,
    I am a working professional and my task is to create a java applet which can create a file at client side according to client's mentioned directory on windows.
    I work on it and found that applets doesn't have permissions to do this.
    Then I work on it and found that using signed applets it can be done, but I signed my applet using self certificates, but even the applet at client side showing the error :
    "Access Denied".