14 Replies Latest reply: Feb 15, 2006 10:34 PM by sanju2 RSS

Using Bulk insert or SQL Loader in VB6

Hi,
      I am quite new to the Oracle world and also forums. But I am looking for some directions in how i get a dataset of 10000 records into a table the quickest way. I have the recordset in an ADO Recordset (or a textfile if that is easier) and I want to insert them in an empty Oracle table. The problem is - I don't know how to.

Situation
      The Oracle DB is on another computer I have nothing special installed on the computer running the VB6 application.
      Can anyone please provide code example or guidelines...

Regards,
      Christian
        • 1. Re: Using Bulk insert or SQL Loader in VB6
          JustinCave
          SQL*Loader is probably the fastest way-- I believe that utility is part of a standard client install. The Oracle Utilities manual has a number of chapters on SQL*Loader-- there are a lot of configuration options depending on the data you want to load.

Justin
          Distributed Database Consulting, Inc.
          http://www.ddbcinc.com/askDDBC
          • 2. Re: Using Bulk insert or SQL Loader in VB6
            Thank you for the answer. I have tried using the SQL*Loader but I can not access the loader from my machine. I only have the ActiveX Data Object (ADO v2.8) installed and through that I can access the OracleDB. If I try using the SQLLDR command in a command prompt nothing happens. So perhaps a stored procedure (I do not know how to make these in Oracle) and through ADOX calling the stored procedure running the SQL*Loader (or another loader or file).
            The SQL*Loader, as I understand it, only takes files on a the computer on which the DB is located.
            If there was a way for me to just BULK INSERT a complete ADO Recordset that would be the preffered thing.
            Hope the above makes sense.
            Regards,
            Christian
            • 3. Re: Using Bulk insert or SQL Loader in VB6