This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Dec 11, 2012 1:56 AM by 979198 RSS

Oracle 11g ODAC Entity Framework - how to auto increment a number

905813 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I recently downloaded 11.2.0.2.30 of ODAC (the version covered in this tutorial http://www.oracle.com/webfolder/technetwork/tutorials/obe/db/dotnet/EntityFrameworkOBE/EntityFrameworkOBE.htm) so that I can write a .NET MVC app against an Oracle database.

I've never done any work with Oracle DB's before and found out today that the auto increment of a key field doesn't just 'happen' like it does in a SQL Server table (yeah, I know how dumb this sounds).

There's a History table in my Oracle DB. It has a sequence on it called 's_history'. But I don't know how to make the table automatically add an incremented number via the Entity Framework. Here's some code:

Using context As New DBEntities
Dim h As New HISTORY
h.YEAR = 2011
h.MONTH = 12
context.HISTORies.Add(h)
context.SaveChanges()
End Using

If I run this then no row gets created because the HISTORY_ID column can't be NULL. I can set the HISTORY_ID colum to a valid number and the row will get created. But how do I get the Entity Framework to optimistically lock the row and generate the next available ID for me?
  • 1. Re: Oracle 11g ODAC Entity Framework - how to auto increment a number
    905913 Newbie
    I ceate a sequence for each table (to hold the value of the incrementing ID) and a before insert trigger (to retrieve the new ID from the sequence and insert into your ID column)

Suggest you use SQL Developer, you can do this in two easy steps -

Right click on Sequences > Create Sequence (call it something like SEQ_TABLENAME_ID)
    Create your table (which must have a numeric PK column)
    Right click on the table and select Trigger > Create Trigger (PK From Sequence)
    Select the sequence you created above and the ID column