This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 7, 2012 4:41 PM by dvohra21 RSS

WebLogic Cannot Find JNDI

894186 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to JDeveloper and WebLogic. I am currently using Oracle Fusion Middleware 11g R2, which includes WebLogic 10.3.5, and JDeveloper 11.1.2.1.0.

I installed WebLogic, and created a global data source mydbDS. I installed JDeveloper, and created a Java EE Web Application, using EJB3. Now things were going along swimmingly until I got to Entity Beans.

Since I wanted to create the entity beans in JDeveloper from the database tables, I created a new application resource mydbDS for my database. A persistence.xml file was automatically generated with the following:
<persistence-unit name="mydbDS">
<provider>org.eclipse.persistence.jpa.PersistenceProvider</provider>
<jta-data-source>java:/app/jdbc/jdbc/mydbDSDS</jta-data-source>
<property name="javax.persistence.jtaDataSource" value="java:/app/jdbc/jdbc/mydbDSDS"/>

When I deployed the ear to the standalone Weblogic server (as setup above), everything deployed properly, but when I accessed the entity bean I created I got the following error.

Caused by: Exception EclipseLink-7060 (Eclipse Persistence Services - 1.0.1 (Build 20080905)): org.eclipse.persistence
.exceptions.ValidationException
Exception Description: Cannot acquire data source java:/app/jdbc/jdbc/mydbDSDS.
Internal Exception: javax.naming.NameNotFoundException: While trying to look up /app/jdbc/jdbc/mydbDSDS in /app/ejb/E
JB.jar#SessionEJB.; remaining name '/app/jdbc/jdbc/mydbDSDS '
at org.eclipse.persistence.exceptions.ValidationException.cannotAcquireDataSource(ValidationException.java:429)
at org.eclipse.persistence.sessions.JNDIConnector.connect(JNDIConnector.java:123)
at org.eclipse.persistence.sessions.JNDIConnector.connect(JNDIConnector.java:94)
at org.eclipse.persistence.sessions.DatasourceLogin.connectToDatasource(DatasourceLogin.java:164)