This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Jan 10, 2012 4:52 AM by gimbal2 RSS

New to Java

elsaka Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Dear All ,
How are you ?
I am new to Java and want to learn it to could continue to ADF .
But till now i can't find the way to begin java.
Please i need anyone to tell me the way to begin learning java , i mean the steps to reach to ADF .
Also i need Any useful books to do that .
Waiting your comments ......
  • 1. Re: New to Java
    gimbal2 Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    ADF, you probably mean Oracle ADF as in an extension to Javaserver Faces.

Then you have a long road ahead of you. How long depends on what you already know and you personally. You don't know Java, but what about basic software engineering theory? Do you know such things as networking, software architecture, object oriented programming, etc. ? If not then I highly suggest you start with a "fun" book like Head First Java 2nd edition and get to grips with not only the language, but software development in general. You may want to pick up some additional books that deal with software engineering in general and not Java specifically.

Whatever you do, learn the language and the tools first. Java Standard Edition, version 6 or 7 whatever you can get affordable books for with good reviews. You most likely will spend a few weeks or months learning it; Java is far from easy. I really advise you to pick a project for yourself and work towards finishing it. I always suggest to do simple games as the fun factor involved helps you to learn and hold on to knowledge. Do a command prompt hangman or a Memory game built using Java Swing or JavaFX 2 if you want to be really up to date.