This discussion is archived
12 Replies Latest reply: Feb 3, 2012 11:59 AM by Gary Graham RSS

Test failed - no ocijdbc11 in java.library.path

user200021 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello

I'm really struggling with the following issue. Whenever I now try and connect to a DB I receive the following error:

Test failed - no ocijdbc11 in java.library.path

I had previously been able to connect to these databases. I tihnk I may have made a change to a registry file (mistakenly) as since then, I have not been able to connect. I have done lots of googling and searching on this forum, but have yet to find a fix that has been successful for me... hence the reason for this new thread

I am a functional consultant and simply use SQL Developer for basic queries. I'm not really that technical. Feel a bit out of my depth trying to fix this problem!

FYI - The following setup may give you a better understanding of how to help
- Preferences > Database > Advance > 'Use OCI/Thick drive' - This option is NOT checked
- Preferences > Database > Advance > 'Tnsnames Directory' - This is set to the same directory as that before I started experiences problems

Please help! I'm not sure what else to try

Thanks in advance

Ross
  • 1. Re: Test failed - no ocijdbc11 in java.library.path
    user200021 Newbie
    Forgot to mention....

Connection Type is 'TNS'
    Connect Identifier is that of DB name in the TNS file

Thanks again in anticipation for your help

Ross
  • 2. Re: Test failed - no ocijdbc11 in java.library.path
    user200021 Newbie
    I found the following in a similar thread...

"I had the "verify the url format for the specified driver" problem and what was missing in my case was the ORACLE_HOME setting in the environment variables. Once I set that, it worked just fine."

Problem is - even if this would fix my problem - I dont know how to set the ORACLE_HOME setting in the environment variables

Thanks for your help

Ross