This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 10, 2012 9:37 PM by Todd Little RSS

Ratio/Interval policy options

916187 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi

I'm new to TSAM and having hard time understanding the purposes/effects of ratio/interval (call path) policy options.

The product document indicates that with the default value of "1" each request will be monitored.

I've changed the values of this option to some non-default numbers (like 5 or 100), but did not notice any behavioral changes (I'm using TSAM 11.1.1.2).

Could somebody here explain what these options are good for?

Thanks.
  • 1. Re: Ratio/Interval policy options
    Todd Little Expert
    Hi,

You can either define a ratio or an interval for any given monitoring policy. If you select ratio, TSAM monitors every Nth call where N in the ratio number. So if you select a value like 5, then Tuxedo will only monitor every 5th item that matches the selection criteria. So if you have a client that calls service A and service A calls service B, only every 5th call made to service A (and as a result of callpath monitoring service B as well) will be monitored.

Interval monitoring operates in a similar manner, only instead of considering the number of calls made for something like callpath monitoring, TSAM will only record the next callpath after the interval has expired. So a value of 10 for an interval will mean that every 10 seconds or more, a callpath will be monitorer, and then another won't be monitored until another 10 seconds has passed.

When you say you couldn't see any behavioral change, can you explain what you did and what you observed?

Regards,
    Todd Little
    Oracle Tuxedo Chief Architect
  • 2. Re: Ratio/Interval policy options
    916187 Newbie
    Hi,

Thanks for the clarification.