1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: May 30, 2013 10:46 AM by 868989 RSS

New to BPM: How to get the tasks in the Workspace

Hi,
      I am new to the BPM and following the book 'Getting_Started_with_Oracle_BPM_Suite_11gR1' and able to follow till the chapter 10.

I deployed the SaleQuoteLab application to the soa_server and able to login to the BPM workspace. But I am not seeing any tasks (orders) in the workspace. I've loaded the data to my local db. How can I see the BPM tasks in the workspace.

Please guide me to get the knowledge in BPM.

Thanks,
      Sree
        • 1. Re: New to BPM: How to get the tasks in the Workspace
          Ravi Jegga
          Hi Sree
          1. Welcome to BPM World.

2. Before you run any Samples, I hope you ran something called demo community seed, to create test users and groups in your BPM Domain default Authenticator. Here is a post that has all the details. Basically to run any sample from Oracle, you need some set of sample Users and Groups. This is required for bpm samples also.

Re: Realm is not populated for BPM app

Hopefully once you deploy above EAR and run the Servlet, you should see list of all the users like jcooper, jstein, wfaulk etc. Now coming to your SalesQuoteDemo:

1. Deploy your Workflow and the TaskForms. I guess you already did this.

2. Now, make sure you configure the users to each Task for each SwimLane you define in the bpm process. You can do this from Jdeveloper or from EM Console. I would prefer some EM Console instead of JDeveloper.

3. Typically for any BPM Process, we will have like Initiator, the person who makes the first initial request. This is the first SwimLane and mostly its like SalesRep. So you need to assign some users to this Role.

4. After assigning users to each role, you login into bpm workspace with the first initiator user. See a link on left side. click on it and enter all details. Submit the Task It goes through approval process.