This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2012 12:12 AM by AlbertoFaenza RSS

Help With A Case Statement With Multiple Variables

908328 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I apologize if this is the incorrect Forum for this type of question, but it was the closest one that I could find. I'm pretty new with SQL and am stuck on this issue. I have roughly 26 dates that I need to compare to one another. Each date is tied to a step code. I also have a Stop value that is tied directly to the "max date" of the step codes. So, I need to compare 30 dates against one another to 1st - ID the max date; 2nd - ID if the Stop value is correct; 3rd - if the stop value is incorrect, identify what the correct value would be.

At first, this seemed like it wouldn't be that hard. I wrote a query that found the max date for each step code. Then I realized that multiple step codes could have the same date. So, I tried using this case statement, but I did not get the expected results. Is there a more efficient way of getting what I need? This code seems like it's not necessary and probably the source of my issue.

CASE