This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: May 11, 2012 2:49 PM by Mark Malakanov (user11181920) RSS

Able to decrypt oracle passwords, a security concern?

user6032647 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi
First of all sorry if this is a silly question. I'm still quite new to Oracle..

My company is using Toad for Oracle to access our database, now I found some theads on the internet saying there is a tool which allows to decrypt the oracle passwords.
How can we prevent someone else from decrypting our database passwords?

Example thread: http://toadfororacle.com/thread.jspa?threadID=36841

Is this a security concern?

Thanks,
Dere

Edited by: user6032647 on 4/05/2012 22:12
  • 1. Re: Able to decrypt oracle passwords, a security concern?
    Aman.... Oracle ACE
    user6032647 wrote:
    Hi
    First of all sorry if this is a silly question. I'm still quite new to Oracle..

My company is using Toad for Oracle to access our database, now I found some theads on the internet saying there is a tool which allows to decrypt the oracle passwords.

Example thread: http://toadfororacle.com/thread.jspa?threadID=36841

I am not a security expert so not sure how valid my statement is going to be but IMO for this "How can we prevent someone else from decrypting our database passwords?" , the answer would be "you can't" . Oracle is constantly suggesting people to use more better combinations of special characters, numerics etc. So if you take care of it, chances are that it would not be so easy for someone to break into your passwords. But I am not too sure that any time, the threat can be completely nullified.

Just my 2 cents.

Aman....
  • 2. Re: Able to decrypt oracle passwords, a security concern?
    user6032647 Newbie
    Thanks for your respose.

I am just worried, because e.g. for one ouf our database connections the password is something like hja!HHT5#PASS (not really, but similar complex), and that tool could find that password pretty much on the fly.