5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2012 10:18 AM by Davin Fifield-Oracle RSS

Applicability of OPA

user12065809
      Hi All,

I am a Siebel Developer having some hands-on over OPA too. I am working in Telecom domain right now. I am trying to figureout applicability of OPA in telecom sector.

For Eg. I found in public sector that OPA is used for following

1) Assignment of the Service Person based on skill and criticality attributes of the Person and Service Request respectively.

2) To carryout complex calculation which involves lots of rule branching.

3) To determine decisons based on hierarchy of Priorities i.e evaluate high priority rules first and then move towards lower priority rules.

Can somebody suggest more such applications may or may not releated to telecom sector(if provided will help my anlysis in telecom).

Thanks

Edited by: user12065809 on 7 May, 2012 12:03 PM
        • 1. Re: Applicability of OPA
          user12065809
          Hi,

I need to do some analysis on urgent basis. Any help over above question will be appreciated.

Thanks
          • 2. Re: Applicability of OPA
            Jasmine Lee-Oracle
            I don't really know much about the Telecom sector, but one comment I will make is that your first example sounds better suited to Siebel Assignment Manager.

Your second example sounds like OPA. Your third example sounds probably like OPA, but would need to know more details to be more sure.

I have been working on a whitepaper on topics such as what types of things is OPA good for, what business problems can OPA address, what is OPA not good for, etc. It's aimed at public sector, not telecom, but I suspect it will be generally useful for you.

This whitepaper is almost finished, but not quite public yet. How soon do you need to do your analysis?

Cheers,
            Jasmine
            • 3. Re: Applicability of OPA
              user12065809
              Hi Jasmine,