This is specially important when using subversion repository.
I am able to create a subview and arrange the entities so that they properly show on the screen. however when I check this work in, other people that check-out my work have to spend time re-formating the subviews.
When working in groups it would be nice to be able to keep the origical formatted subview.
What version of Data Modeler do you use? We recommend 188.8.131.523.
You can have problems if subview is updated/merged before new tables or FKs are processed. It's good to close design and open it again after the whole update/merge process is finished (including resolving of conflicts). Also you should be careful when manually resolve conflicts - some nodes are marked to be deleted so you should uncheck them if you want them to retain in subview.