1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply: May 20, 2012 11:46 PM by 915826 RSS

Questions on 11g

Hi,

I am new to 11g and have few questions :

1. Is there a way to query database through Portal. In UCM 7.5 we had a service called GET_DB_SEARCH_PAGE and executing it through browser used to open a DB interface and queries could be run in it.

I am not able to run the same in 11g. On running it it just gives a blank page and no errors.

2. I need to implement security in 11g. I need to create roles, accounts and users. All these need to be created in UCM and WLS as well.
      Where do I create roles and accounts in WLS.
        • 1. Re: Questions on 11g
          Srinath Menon-Oracle
          Hi ,

Please find the answer for point 2 :

2. I need to implement security in 11g. I need to create roles, accounts and users. All these need to be created in UCM and WLS as well.
          Where do I create roles and accounts in WLS.

All the users , roles , accounts need to be created on WLS or the external LDAP / AD server only .

There is no need for the duplication of these on UCM server .

Thanks
          Srinath
          • 2. Re: Questions on 11g
            Hi Srinath,

Thanks for the respone.

I have options such as 'Users and Groups' @ Home >Summary of Security Realms >myrealm >Users and Groups.

Groups - Do these correspond to Roles in UCM ?

Where do I create Accounts in WLS.

Shashwat
            • 3. Re: Questions on 11g
              Srinath Menon-Oracle
              Hi Shashwat ,

1. Groups - Do these correspond to Roles in UCM ?

Right , groups on WLS or LDAP server correspond to Roles in UCM .

2. Where do I create Accounts in WLS.

Groups which are prefixed with @ will show up as Accounts in UCM .

eg : @groupname on WLS / AD.

Thanks
              Srinath
              • 4. Re: Questions on 11g
                Hi Srinath,

I have been reading Oracle Documentation as well side by side. I found :