6 Replies Latest reply: May 10, 2012 3:00 AM by BluShadow RSS

Please Help me!!! DVLA/Courts : 1 - ME : 0

Hi, I am a complete novice but think I know how powerful database can be.

My problem is I have recently lost a court case against the UK Driver Vehicle Licence Agency.

I lost because the DVLA Barrister blinded the Judge with science about how hard it would be for DVLA to put error checking in their Database.

I am in court again next week asking a Higher Judge to allow me to appeal the lower courts decision.

Does anyone know if there is a qualified DB consultant or academic (Judges love letters after names) who can pen a quick e-mail on the approx cost of implementing error checking on a large DB. I don't need a full report since I only need to convince the Judge in a 5 minute hearing that there is more to come and allow me to move on to full appeal.
        • 1. Re: Please Help me!!! DVLA/Courts : 1 - ME : 0
          The facts of the situation are that in 2004 I was convicted of no MOT, Insurance and licence in my absence and got points on my licence. I spoke to DVLA who told me only the original court could overturn conviction and remove points.
          I went back to the court three weeks later and, overturned my conviction, the court told me they would inform DVLA that points were removed from my licence.

Years later after my car was seized, Her Majesties Court Service said they sent notice of points removed from licence, DVLA claimed to have not received it.

I took DVLA to court under the Data Protection Act 1998 arguing that since a convicted motorist only has 28 days to appeal a conviction then a second data check some time after that could double check whether an appeal was succesful and correct any bad data the DVLA would pass onto the Police National Computer.