This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 23, 2012 8:58 PM by Double A RSS

Seek clarifications about Publishing Wizard

Double A Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi! I am a 15+ year veteran with Oracle technology but newbie to Mobile applications. I have spent a couple of days reading all the documentation provided with Oracle Database Mobile Server, but still have some fundamental questions! Hope this is a quick answer for someone on this forum.

I seek clarity on (specifically) what files do I include in a packaged application (more detailed description further below)

My Environment:
Windows XP
Oracle Database Mobile Server 11g (11.1.0.0.0)
Oracle Database 11g (11.2.0.1.0)
Oracle Weblogic Server (12.1.1.)

Here is what I have done thus far:

1) I have installed Oracle Weblogic Server and Mobile Server successfully. Logs are clean. I have installed Mobile Client on the same machine as the Mobile Server.

2) I have installed Oracle Setup, Oracle Update and DMAgent apps successfully on an Android handset

3) I have created a new user and can see my registered Android device on Mobile Manager screen

4) I have created a basic Helloworld application using Eclipse and run it in Android emulator. Now I have various directories like /bin, /src, /gen, /res and an AndroidManifest.xml file in the workspaces directory being used by Eclipse.

5) I fire up Publishing Wizard and create a new application definition. I am not sure which files and directories to include in the application. I have tried all of the following to no avail:

- All files and folders
- All files in /bin
- Only the Helloworld.apk file from /bin
- Exported a jar file from Eclipse of my project and tried to package that

All of the above publish with no errors that I can see. I can see the published applications in the list of Applications in Mobile Manager. When I take an Oracle Update on my Android phone it shows the new Helloworld application, but then I get the error "Could not parse".