7 Replies Latest reply: May 21, 2012 6:56 AM by Umer RSS

store data in SIM card and STK applet

Vivien
      Hi, I am new to this topic, so sorry that I have many questions about what can do and what cannot do with a SIM card. And I think I have confusion of some definitions. Here are my questions:

1) Can I store some data by creating a file under the file system of the SIM card? Then can I define its access condition such as "UPDATE CHV1" when I create it?

It seems that this part is covered in ISO/IEC 7816-9, which I don't have access to it. But is it possible? Or is there any other (/better) way to achieve that?

2) What is the difference between "STK applet" and "JavaCard applet that is deployed on the SIM card"? (most confusing)

I saw some people saying that STK applet can receive events signals such as SMS arrival. So when we are developing an applet using the javacard kit ourselves, how do I know if it is a STK applet or a normal applet?

In which case do I have to develop a STK applet (I guess maybe when I want to display a message on the handset?), and in which case it's better to develop a JavaCard applet (examples)?

And in any case, in order to communicate and process message with the applet on the SIM card, we also need to develop some applet on the handset, is that right?

3) If I want to deploy (load and install) an applet onto the SIM card, do I really NEED some special authorization such as special keys from the operator?

Because I saw people mentioning it from time to time. If so, what should I do without the key for test or demo, using a test SIM card???

Any answer is welcome. Thanks a million!!!
      Wenting

Edited by: 934624 on May 16, 2012 2:18 AM
        • 1. Re: store data in SIM card and STK applet
          Umer
          934624 wrote:
          Hi, I am new to this topic
          Welcome
          1) Can I store some data by creating a file under the file system of the SIM card?
          Yes